Inspiration Joint.. Chinminpoo!!

"Powered By Ideas, Ideals & Idealism"… A Blog By Prerna Jain !!

Just a Rupee


This is a rhetoric, satirical poem that justifies the proverb “beggars are not choosers”.

I once saw a poor

Beggar who sat

Begging for alms

On a tattered mat.

I thought that the

Beggar must be in need

He probably had some

Children to feed.

Feeling pity for the

Man I did see

I went up to him and

Offered him a rupee

Looking at the coin

With expectant eyes,

A feeling of disgust the

Beggar could not disguise

He surprised me when

He shook his head.

A firm but rude

“No” he said.

With the coin you give

There’s nothing I can buy

With the prices of

Goods soaring sky high.

Rs. 20 is the price of a

Decent Cigarette pack;

I need at least hundred

To buy some smack.

“Though I am just a beggar

But like many like me

I won’t accept a sum

Below my dignity.

“Moreover my business

Is not doing too well,

What profits it will

Bring, I never can tell.

So you see that your

Coin is of no use

And that is why

I had to refuse.

But a ten rupee note

I will gladly accept”

Said that beggar.

Nothing except

Quite moved by

The beggar’s eloquence,

I felt convinced that

He spoke sense.

And after the important

Lesson that I learned

I pocketed the coin

Which I had earned.

And being the sensitive

But not the foolish kind

I walked away, leaving

The beggar behind.

But at times, I see the

same beggar who sat

Begging for alms on

His tattered mat.

And quite often

I still get to see

Him, refusing to accept

Another “Just a rupee”.

And at these times, I

Stop to muse a while,

And I cannot help

But let out a smile.

For a certain thought

Greatly amuses me

And I am sure, in this,

You will also agree.

That if he hadn’t had

The aversion to a rupee,

He might have been

Richer than you or me.

For like what once

A wise man said

‘It is one by one that

You make a hundred

But there is nothing

I can do or say

For greed, alms have

Its price to pay.

With this thought

Still in my mind

I walk away leaving

The beggar behind.

9 comments on “Just a Rupee

  1. ashaa :-)
    September 10, 2012

    sweet

  2. milan
    September 10, 2012

    yeah , true , ironic

  3. Mr. Sachin S. Ambesange
    September 10, 2012

    my thinking is do not show mercy on beggar

  4. prernaj
    September 10, 2012

    today this is a “professional”…. on the other side , some people are forced to opt this ,with reference to “slumdog millionaire” …

  5. Pingback: Sitemap : Published Articles « Prerna Jain

  6. Pingback: Categorised List Of All Articles : | prernajaindotme

  7. Priya
    September 30, 2012

    really a nice article and great post.

  8. Pingback: Round Up « Prerna Jain

  9. Pingback: Most Viewed Posts « E-Prerna.Com

Leave A Comment !!!

Information

This entry was posted on September 10, 2012 by in Discussion Forum, Editor's Choice, Education & Society, Edutainment, Quote Misquote and tagged , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6,698 other followers

Archives

Things And Such!!

Pingates.Com

Welcome To My Blog !!

Top Rated

Find Me At Plurk

Proud To Be Networked Blog Member

Happy Holi To All The Readers Of My Blog!!

Thought For Diwali :-)

Blog Stats

  • 21,895 hits, thank you friends

Proud To Be IndiBlogger

Lets Be Friends On Facebook

Connect With Me At LinkedIn

Lets Meet At StumbleUpon

Follow Me At Pinterest

